Ronaldo Singh shines as India win two more bronze medals

Junior world champion Ronaldo Singh Laitonjam won the country’s first-ever international medal in the 1km time trial as India enjoyed another successful day at the Asian Track Cycling Championship, winning two bronze medals on day 3.

Birjit Yumnam won the second bronze medal for the hosts, taking their total to 20 medals at the IGI Stadium.

The day, which included five finals, also saw a major crash, which resulted in a minor injury to the Indian driver involved.

When Zulhelmi Zainal of Malaysia and Viswajit Singh of India faced off, the runners were preparing for the 10 km Tempo Men Elite, the second event of the Omnium.

Viswajit had to pull out of the event due to injury, but Zulhelmi Zainal picked himself up and finished the race. Zulhelmi finished 8th in the final Omnium standings after completing all four events.

Ronaldo Singh rode his bike at 58.254 km/h and clocked 1:01.798 seconds to claim bronze in the senior men’s 1 km time trial event. It was his first medal in this event, as well as that of India. Japan’s Yuta Obara won gold in 1:01.118s (59.902km/h), while Malaysia’s Mohammad Fadhil took silver in 1:01.639s.

“I came here for gold but had to settle for bronze, I just repeated my performance from last year which was not enough for gold. To change the color of the medal, I have to focus more on my technique,” ​​Ronaldo said.

Of his plans for the Olympics, Ronaldo said: “I would like to put together a team for the team sprint event where we have already won a medal at the World Juniors. This would give more visibility to the Indian cycling team, paving the way for versatility in our performance as a nation.

Birjit Yumnam won India’s second bronze medal in the 10km Scratch race in the Junior Men category.

Yumnam pulled away from Kazakh Ilya Karabutov and Iranian Amir Ali after 35 laps to finish third in the 40-lap 10km Scratch race in the Junior Men category. Hwarang KIM of Korea won the gold medal and Zulfahmi Aiman ​​of Malaysia was second.

Shunsuke Imamura of Japan won the Men’s Elite Omnium title at the 2022 Asian Track Cycling Championship. Imamura put in an outstanding performance, finishing first in all four races (10km scratch race, 10km tempo race, elimination, points race 25 km).

Mayuri Lute and Sadnya Kotake, two Indian runners, were eliminated in the quarter-finals of the senior and junior women’s sprints respectively. Mayuri was beaten by Yuka Kobayashi of Japan, while Sadnya was beaten by Azwa Nabila of Malaysia.

“Kobayashi was a tough opponent with good technique, I have to work hard on my technique and power for the upcoming Commonwealth Games,” Mayuri said after losing the event.

India’s Sampath Pasamel finished sixth in the junior men’s 1km time trial, clocking 52.324 km/h and a time of 1:08.801. Kirill Kurdidi of Kazakhstan won gold with a time of 1:02.840, while Guenwoo KIM of Korea and Minato Nakaishi of Japan won silver and bronze respectively.

Kazuhei Kimura of Japan won gold in the men’s para sprint B event, while Jakkit Punthong of Thailand took silver.

Rungarun Ratsamee of Thailand won the Women B Para Sprint event with a time of 13.398 seconds.

(IANS input)

About Allen L. Campbell

Check Also

India A and India B teams win bronze medals in Women’s and Open category

The 44e Chess Olympiad held in Mammalapuram, Chennai from 28e from July 10 to 10e …